My Life as a Leasing Consultant

This week, we’re excited to bring you a guest blog written by Leasing Consultant Eric Hannemann, who works on site at Wakonda Village in Des Moines, Iowa. In his post, Eric walks us through an average day in the leasing office. Enjoy!

Sounds of crashing waves, a beach view that shimmers under the golden sun and refreshments plentiful on a bed of ice brings a calming sense of tranquility. If only to my dismay, a sudden symphony of alarms come roaring through my head. The time is 5:30 a.m. and I have awakened to a new day in the life of a leasing consultant.

My alarms are set to go off at 5:30 a.m. every day because I feel it is important to start your day completely prepared and ready to take on just about anything. (I mean “alarms” in the plural sense of the word – as it can take a village to wake me up!) I love having this extra time to myself, as I am able to start with a mug of coffee and the morning newspaper.

Here’s what my ‘typical’ day entails.

8:00 a.m. – Our office opens at 8 a.m., which is when I hit the ground running! From completing the opening checklist to walking the tour path of the property, I keep a travel coffee mug with me at all times!

9:30 a.m. – Appointments usually book up in the afternoons so this is the perfect time to complete paperwork – including invoices, renewal agreements, updating the marketing book, etc. I like to complete these tasks in the morning when the phone doesn’t ring as frequently.

11:00 a.m. – Outreach marketing is an important tool to expand the name of your community. Generally, I am hitting the main strip malls and plazas around our community. Taking the time to establish connections with shop owners allows me to return often and see where our marketing dollars pay off.

11a12:00 p.m. – I take a deep breath around noon. The office can get pretty chaotic by this time, so refilling refreshments, vacuuming, tidying up our space, etc., is necessary to keep our office in the best shape possible.

The most commonly asked question I get from new employees is how we not only accomplish everything, but how we remember to complete all of our tasks! I tell them that each and every staff member has their own way of staying organized. I, personally, refer to my “Big Book of What Eric Must Remember or Go to Bed Feeling like You Forgot Something” schedule book. This thing comes with me everywhere – both on and off site. It is my lifeline, a place where I can collect my thoughts during the workday, and record important events that happen on the property. If you work on site and don’t have a book like this, reach out to your Property Manager to look into ordering one!book ordered for yourself

2:00 p.m. – It’s time for lunch! My lunch break is split between eating something light and sitting quietly for simple meditation. Living in the community that I work at gives me more valuable time to myself because my commute is just a 45 second walk to my apartment – depending on sidewalk traffic.

12p 13:00 p.m. – At 3 p.m., it’s boots on the ground running again! With so many prospective residents with so many different personalities, each with their own wants and needs, it’s easy to feel a little overwhelmed. How are we supposed to connect with each and every one of them in a thoughtful and meaningful way? My answer to that is – have you hugged a building today?

Have you hugged your building today? – We are pulled in many different directions on site, which can help you lose your sense of purpose at your apartment community. When things get stressful, sometimes we just need to fall back in love with our communities, and that passion will come through during tours with prospective residents.

12p 24:00 p.m. – At this time, we are starting to wind down for the day, but more work still needs to be done! It is time to contact residents whose maintenance service requests are complete and to inquire about their satisfaction. Having a resident say a particular job was done perfectly is a really rewarding experience, and provides us a chance to learn when additional service is needed.

5:00 p.m. – If you work in an office that is open until 6 p.m., you know that you’re often times the only staff member running the entire community that last hour. Most residents are returning home from work at this time and stopping by to pick up packages, submit service requests, etc. which can serve as a challenge!

right before 4pm5:50 p.m. – As I get ready to close up the office, this is the last time I’m running around like a mad man. Taking the last few moments in my day to organize my desk and schedule tasks I need to complete the following day helps keep me in check.

6:00 p.m. – I complete any last minute items I need to check off my list and close up the office. At some point after that, I head back home, kick off my shoes and dive into some great magazines.

Thanks for reading!

###

Are you or someone you know looking for an apartment community?

If so, be sure to check out our communities here!

Leave a Reply

