How to Celebrate Your Puppy’s First Birthday

Today’s blog is brought to you by a crazy, and 16933994_799743956059_2052202947_nunapologetic, dog mom. For years I had wanted a dog. Finally, I got myself on a list, waited what seemed like forever for her to be born and then even longer to pick her up. This time one year ago I was on the edge of my seat while my pups biological mother started to have her HUGE litter of 12 babies. So, one year later and that pup is my world, and my furbaby, so of course she’ll be having a birthday party. Here’s how we’re celebrating:

 

Breakfast:

A birthday isn’t complete without a special breakfast. I love cinnamon rolls so I figured my dog would too. Pinterest has been my best friend when it comes to preparing for her birthday, so I pulled it up and quickly searched for a cinnamon roll dog treat recipe.

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour – I used rice flour
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • 1 egg

Mix all of the ingredients together and roll out into a rectangle shape. The filling is a simple mixture of honey and cinnamon. You can eyeball these, just make sure to mix well and have enough to cover. Roll the dough into a log form and cut 1 inch (or so) pieces. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Let the cool and then either refrigerate or freeze until time to serve. For the frosting, mix 3 oz of low fat cream cheese and 3 tbsp of milk together and drizzle before serving. YUM!

capture

Snacks:

Any good birthday party has special snacks, and what kind of dog mom would I be if I didn’t make them myself – now’s a good time to mention that my dog eats better than I do – all natural, organic, and raw ingredients with no preservatives. Like her mom, she loves pumpkin so I made two different very easy pumpkin treats.

Frozen Pumpkin Peanut Butter Treats

  • 1 can pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 3 tsp coconut oil (use 1 tsp for every 10 lbs)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Put all of this into a pot. Melt. Mix well. Pour into silicone molds (I used bones and paws). Freeze. Easy peasy.

Baked Pumpkin Peanut Butter Treats

  • 1 can pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • 1 ¾ cup whole wheat flour – I used rice flour
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon and ginger – optional

Mix everything together in a bowl until a dough is formed. Roll out and use cookie cutters to shape. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Cookie cutters aren’t crucial, but using them will give you the look of real dog biscuits.

Ruby loooooved these treats!

16930689_799741865249_1048161335_o

Cake:

The icing on top of the proverbial birthday cake is of course.. birthday cake. I could’ve easily bought one from one of the many specialty dog shops in my area, but I opted for boxed dog pumpkin flavored cake. I used two boxes, followed the directions on the box, and baked in a silicone shaped dog pan. The boxed cake came with icing that I will make before serving. Super easy! When using two boxes, I recommend wrapping tin foil around the edges of your pan because the outer edges will cook much faster than the middle.

As far as presents go, Ruby has pleeeeenty of toys already! I decided that for her birthday, I would focus more on yummy treats than gifts. I did, however, get her this fun birthday cake toy which I’m sure she’ll love. To put the finishing touches on the party, I have dog party plates and napkins to use, and a dog friendly maple bacon ice cream to give her for an evening dessert.

This may seem like a LOT for one day for a dog, but every ingredient is dog friendly and most are even good for your dog (pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger). I am no dog “expert” so please consult your vet if you have any concerns. For any who were wondering or worrying about her impending dog diabetes, her health and well-being is number 1 to me so I can assure you that all treats will be given in moderation and with her safety being at the forefront.

 

Feel free to follow our birthday adventures tomorrow on her Instagram (@mynameisRubyMae) and share any tips you may have for celebrating your beloved pet’s first birthday! Enjoy some of the highlights of our first year below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

